You may have noticed in viewing the stockings on this site that they come in all sizes, shapes, and colors. When I first began making stockings, I made a template out of foam core board from a preprinted fabric panel. It wasn’t long before I started creating my own templates from cardboard, tweaking the sizes and shape of the heel and toe. Although I designed many of them freeform, patterns are easy to come by online. I will post a few of them soon on By the Chimney With Care.

As with all aspects of Christmas stockings, creativity is the name of the game when it comes to the size and shape of your stockings … the new ideas end only when you stop inventing them!

When you begin making your own stockings, start simple so you can get the hang of it first. It won’t be long until you’re able to move to much more complicated details.

I’ll be posting directions for how to make a stocking here soon!

What follows are a few of the many stocking shapes I’ve used over the years … and even a few I haven’t tried yet.

shape-1shape-2shape-3shape-4shape-5shape-6shape-7

