Here, in alphabetical order, are the partial lyrics to all the songs I could find that contain a mention of Christmas stockings.

I’ve marked the line before and after, and highlighted the word “stocking” for easy reference.

DISCLAIMER: Please be aware of several things.

(1) This list may not be complete. If you know of any songs I have missed, please e-mail me or post a comment and I’ll get your song added to the list.

(2) I haven’t heard of a lot of these songs . . . but I trusted my ever-knowledgeable Internet.

(3) Some of these songs contain profanity or objectionable imagery. I honestly went back and forth about whether or not to include them, but as I do not favor or condone censorship under any circumstances, it seemed hypocritical to then censor my own blog because some reader might be offended. I’ll mark the offending lyrics with a big CR for “creepy” or “crude” so you can know to skip them if you think they will offend . . . but please know they are included. If you’re perusing this site with your kids, just be aware.

(4) There are 38 songs total, so I’ve broken he list into 3 parts: 1-12, 13-24, and 25-38.

Christmas Without You

Christmastime

Dear Santa

CR Deck the Halls With Parts of Charlie

Green Christmas

Hanging Up My Stocking

Happy Holiday

Here Comes Santa Claus

Hey, Santa

The Holiday Season

Homecoming Christmas

I Met an Angel on Christmas Day

CHRISTMAS WITHOUT YOU

Xscape

The snow is falling like I knew it would,

Carolers are already singing

Last year is all that I can think about,

Every time I hear sleigh bells ringing

But I know,

That when summer came I pushed you away,

I should have never let you go, no

Now all I’m really trying to say is…

I want you to come home,

I know that there won’t be a Christmas without you,

I miss you so much

You’re all that I want,

I know that there won’t be a Christmas without you,

I miss you, come home

I remember all the love we made,

I miss your STOCKING on the fireplace.

Underneath the mistletoe we stayed,

‘Twas a very special holiday

CHRISTMASTIME

Arrogant Worms

It’s the festive season

There’s singing and shopping and joy

Santa’s talking to children

The elves are wrapping toys

The season’s one of charity

Of peace for all you’ve met

But though I should be of giving right now

I just want to get

It’s Christmastime and times are tough

It’s Christmastime, and we ain’t got enough

Hey, Mr. Santa Claus

We believe in you because

If we count on our so-called friends

our Christmas STOCKINGS will be empty

It’s Christmas time, we’re looking for a lot of stuff

My brother wants a computer

Sister wants a dolly

Mom wants a brand new bathtub

and Dad just wants alcohol he

spent last Christmas wasted

crawling on his knees

eating turkey that fell on the floor

and watering our Christmas tree

Mike wants a new guitar

Andy wants to record the Spice Girls

Trevor wants 13 kittens

Chris wants a date with Shania

We compared all our Christmas lists

and only one thing overlapped

We would all be happy if

everyone bought our crap

DEAR SANTA

Tim McGraw

Dear Santa, I’m a grown man now,

But I’ve got a problem here

If you’ve been watching then you must know,

I’ve not been good all year

I let her down, lost sight of us,

I don’t deserve one thing, but she does

Dear Santa bring her a heart,

The one she’s got is broken

Fill up her STOCKING with the words,

That I left unspoken

Now I’m not asking you to bring her love,

‘Cause Christmas morning when she wakes up,

Dear Santa that’s what she’ll get from me

Now I remember Christmas past,

When little was enough

Now all the presents under all the trees

Couldn’t save our love.

We need a miracle like the one on 34th,

To get us back to where we were before

CR DECK THE HALLS WITH PARTS OF CHARLIE CR

The Crypt Keeper

Deck the halls with parts of Charlie

Fa la la la la la la la la

Make the Yule time gross and gnarly

Fa la la la la la la la la

STOCKINGS stuffed with ears and fingers

Fa la la la la la la la la

Chopped from all those caroling singers

Fa la la la la la la la la

GREEN CHRISTMAS

Barenaked Ladies

Couples skating on the pond

Making angels on the lawn

Five red mittens drying on the rack

And needles shedding tannenbaums

Red bows on the railings

And snowflakes on the ground

But it’s a green Christmas in this town

Green

Cause of everything I miss

All this mistletoe but no kiss

And with every Christmas wish

There would be no greater gift

Than to have this envy lift

Carolers are at my door

Don’t wanna hear them anymore

STOCKINGS on the mantle

It snows here every day

But it’s a green Christmas anyway

Red nose on the reindeer

And tinsel on the tree

But it’s a green Christmas for me

HANGING UP MY STOCKINGS

Squirrel Nut Zippers

Want to show old Santa Claus that I be-lieve

Silent night and the stars are bright

The fields are white with snow

Christmas trees are waiting

Lights are turned down low

Tinsel shells and tinsel bells

Reflect the firelight’s hue

Seem to whisper softly

There’s just one thing to do, I’m…

Hanging up my STOCKINGS

Tonight is Christmas Eve

Want to show old Santa Claus that I believe

Want to see his reindeer dancing

Through the snow

Hope their bells will wake me up

So I will know

Now Iay me down to sleep upon this joyful night

Angels will watch over me until the morning light

Now Iay me down to sleep upon this joyful night

Now I have seen his reindeer prancing

Through the snow

Heard their bells their tinsel shells

So now I know

Santa Claus has been here

That’s one thing I believe

So I’m putting up my STOCKING ’til next

Christmas Eve

HAPPY HOLIDAY

Enuff Z’nuff

In Wonderland the snow is on the ground

the happiness, you hear it all around

Santa Claus and mistletoe and old Jack Frost

Yeah, don’t you know

That little boys and little girls

They love to play

With little toys and little twirls of yesterday

They sing the joys onto the world

I’d like to say, have a happy holiday

Even there are smiles among the poor

They don’t have much but they have love for sure

Helping hands to get those through

Who have no one, nothing to do

That little boys and little girls

They love to play

With little toys and little twirls of yesterday

They sing the joys onto the world

I’d like to say, have a happy holiday

Ding-dong, hear the bells they ring

Ding-dong, hear the caroler’s sing

STOCKINGS hung and filled with everything

When the emptiness to get you down

All alone you walk the lonely ground

Just think about the ones you love

And take the blows and rise above

HERE COMES SANTA CLAUS

Traditional

Here comes Santa Claus, here comes Santa Claus

Right down Santa Claus Lane

Vixen and Blitzen and all his reindeer

Pulling on the reins

Bells are rignin’, children singin’

All is merry and bright

Hang your STOCKINGS and say your prayers

‘Cause Santa Claus is coming tonight

HEY, SANTA

Ashanti

Hey, Santa, can you bring me something good

(Something good, something good)?

Hey, Santa, can you bring me something sweet

(Something sweet, something, something sweet)?

Like chocolate kisses or candy canes.

Gumdrops or butterscotch, fruity flavor chewy rings

Hey, Santa, can you bring me something nice

(Something nice, something nice)?

Hey, Santa, can you bring me something new

(Something new, something, something new)?

Like a diamond bracelet or a diamond ring

How about a shiny new, baby blue, convertible?

Hey, Santa, can you bring me everything?

Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh…

Hey, Santa, can I sing this song to you

(Sing to you, sing to you)?

Hey, Santa, can you make my wish come true

(Make it true, make it, make it true)?

Can you fill my STOCKING with lots of treats?

Boxes with red and green, underneath the Christmas tree?

Hey, Santa, can you bring me everything?

THE HOLIDAY SEASON

Andy Williams

It’s the holiday season

And Santa Claus is coming back

The Christmas snow is white on the ground

When old Santa gets into town

He’ll be coming down the chimney, down

Coming down the chimney, down

It’s the holiday season

And Santa Claus has got a toy

For every good girl and good little boy

He’s a great big bundle of joy

He’ll be coming down the chimney, down

Coming down the chimney, down

He’ll have a big fat pack upon his back

And lots of goodies for you and me

So leave a peppermint stick for old St. Nick

Hanging on the Christmas tree

It’s the holiday season

With the whoop-de-do and hickory dock

And don’t forget to hang up your SOCK

‘Cause just exactly at 12 o’clock

He’ll be coming down the chimney

Coming down the chimney

Coming down the chimney, down!

HOMECOMING CHRISTMAS

Alabama

A glowin’ fire and fallin’ snow, they spark a memory

STOCKINGS hangin’, mistletoe, presents beneath a tree

A happy boy wakin’ up to toys, lookin’ so surprised

And wondering how Santa knew just when I closed my eyes

It’s a Homecoming Christmas, goin’ back to where it all began

Homecoming Christmas, I wanna be there once again

Memories do sweet and strong and I’ve been done too long

It’s Christmas time and I’m comin’ home

I can see the Christmas tree and feel the warm fireplace

Handmade decorations, homemade pies and cakes

Family all together with so much love to share

A special time and I can’t wait, can’t wait to be there

I MET AN ANGEL ON CHRISTMAS DAY

Celine Dion

Twenty-fourth of December

It was a cold and snowing night

I still can remember

Gazing at the stars and the moonlight

Fell asleep on a sofa-bed

Dreams of Christmas in my head

But I woke up to my surprise

There he was right in front of my eyes

Listen up to what I got to say

I found true love and it’s here to stay

Chapel bells are gonna ring in me

I met an angel on Christmas day

I was stuffing the STOCKINGS

And hanging tinsel on the tree

When I heard him knocking

I opened the door in time to see

Carolers sing “Silver Bells”

I saw his face, that’s when I fell

He was there bent on one knee

Santa sent him just for me

