I was just doing a  little research on blogs, and came across a post titled “Your Blog Might Suck,” on bloggingexperiment.com by Ben Cook.

The first picture that came up in my image search for the term ugly blog.

The first picture that came up in my image search for the term "ugly blog."

I think I do a pretty decent job with this little blog, and I’m having a lot of fun doing it (so who cares if anyone else likes it, right?), but I’ll admit I read the list with a tiny bit of trepidation. Was – whew – relieved to learn that I don’t commit any of the sins he lists:

If your color scheme looks like a Disney character exploded…

If you RandOmly cAPItaliZE lettERs THROUghout YOur posts…

If my grandfather can take a trip the bathroom before your site loads…

If you’ve never met a widget or plugin you didn’t like…

If you have more ads than a Nascar race…

If you update once per presidential administration…

If you think punctuation is optional…

If your do-m-ai-n-na-me has more dashes than the Olympics…

If you spell like an illiterate 13 yo gril trieing 2 snd a txt msg…

If you tend to use big long run on sentences and never bother to break your content into paragraphs or format the text with headers or spaces or anything of the sort and would never dare to use a picture or two you know just something nice to look at thus resulting in a huge big long boring and bland block of text that could cure the worst case of insomnia just by having to look at it…

If your idea of “fair and balanced” is Fox News…

If your hosting company should be doing ads for Levitra…

And last but certainly not least, if you have to steal content ideas from Jeff Foxworthy…

OK – so I can’t speak to the loading times…that may be an issue for some people. I’m not really sure. But I think it’s the only faux pas out of all of these I may have to worry about.

At any rate, I thought it was useful info and just wanted to share. Happy Wednesday!

