So here I am … dawdling around my blog (no, I would not call it procrastination!), checking stats to see which posts are getting traffic, and I come across a post with a broken image link. “Hark!” she says, hand raised melodramatically across her brow. “Say it isn’t so!”

It was so.

But not a big deal. I went and grabbed a new picture of St. Nicholas, and all is now well.

However, a little serendipity occurred in the meantime. I noticed an autmatic tag added to the bottom of my post titled, “Elf Abuse.” What the hell? So, naturally, I clicked on it, and it took me to this hillarious story from Time.

‘Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the Balkans/Not a brain cell was stirring–not even the Salkinds’. Alexander and Ilya Salkind are clever producers who love to make movies about sweet, heavily padded people who can fly: Superman and Supergirl. A big-budget fantasy about Santa Claus (the myth) might seem as natural as raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, but it’s more like coal in Christmas stockings. As presented in this “nondenominational” version, Claus was a 13th century woodcutter who died and went to the North Pole, where he was greeted as the Chosen One and given a couple hundred elves as his assistants. Stars shine in the north; a UNESCO chorale ladles Bosco over Henry Mancini’s syrupy score; Dudley Moore, the chief elf, actually says, “If you give extra kisses, you get bigger hugs.” The movie plays like a W.C. Fields nightmare: to drown in a vat of whimsy.

So there you have it. Read your  own blog every once in a while. You never know what you’ll come across!

